The Return

I know, I’ve been away. My life has been a series of cacophonous events and then catatonic pauses. So, I apologize. I need to attend to my lovely blog (and lovelier followers) once more.

Since I am on summer break, I’ve decided to break into the reviewing market. So, right now, I’m going to do movie and book reviews of things I read and see over the summer and perhaps throw in a couple event, play, and recreational things as well. Here is my to-do list of movies and books I have already seen/read since my summer began last week.

Movies

  1. Orange is the New Black: Season 2 (2014)
  2. Happy-Go-Lucky (2008)
  3. Submarine (2010)
  4. Frances Ha (2013)
  5. Terms and Conditions May Apply (2013)
  6. The Trip (2010)

Books

  1. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan
  2. Norwegian Wood, by Haruki Murakami

These reviews will be coming quite steadily from my blog very soon. I also have two lists going of the other books I’ll be reading and movies I’ll be watching. My Netflix queue is quite figuratively bursting at the moment. I also take long train rides every day, so I have been reading a lot more quickly than usual. My lists are as follows:

Movies (selections in no particular order)

  1. Prince Avalanche (2013)
  2. The Kids Are All Right (2010)
  3. Much Ado About Nothing (2012)
  4. Jeff, Who Lives at Home (2011)
  5. Annie Hall (1977)
  6. Fargo (1996)
  7. The Viscous Kind (2009)

Books

  1. The Empathy Exams, by Leslie Jamison
  2. The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz
  3. The Master and Margarita, by Mikhail Bulgakov
  4. Atonement, by Ian McEwan
  5. Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte
  6. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest, by Stieg Larson

So yeah. Am I being ambitious? Yes. Will I finish everything? Probably not. But hey, a girl can dream.

 

Leave a comment